30 Day Vegan Challenge – Day 11 – Travel

Finding Abundant Food Options While Travelling

4bc98b7c9d24d2de8293f3ac731abf98-994cfb48456e223324103b0d6d76f2fe“It’s not the fault of “being vegan” that makes it challenging to find nutrient-dense food on the road. The problem is that as individuals and as a society, we have not made eating well a priority – whether we are at home or travelling.

The truth is that eating vegan on the road is easy in most places and a little challenging in others. It’s just a matter of knowing what to look for and taking the time to prepare.

No matter how hard I try, when I travel, I accept that I’ll be eating less optimally than when I’m home, but I do try to follow some guidelines to make travelling as pleasant as possible.”

Colleen Patrick-Goudreau, 30 Day Vegan Challenge

Stop at the Shell Station. Want I hot meal. I don't like your vegan chances, especially if you want to eat something healthy.
Stop at the Shell Station. Want a hot meal? I don’t like your vegan chances, especially if you want to eat something healthy.

Any stop at a petrol station clearly shows how, as a society, we value convenience over eating well, especially on the road.

When travelling Colleen has three fundamental pieces of advice that make a lot of sense:

  1. Come prepared.
  2. Do some research.
  3. Ask for what you want – in advance, if possible.

She provides lots of tips and anecdotes for achieving all three.

Vicky Ha from House of Dumplings in Wellington - my favourite vegan food in Wellington. They sell two types of vegan dumplings. (c) House of Dumplings
Vicky Ha from House of Dumplings in Wellington – my favourite vegan food in Wellington. They sell two types of vegan dumplings.
(c) House of Dumplings

Since going vegan, the only travel I have done was a trip to Wellington to see family at the end of last year.  It was a bit of an adjustment for both me and some of my family members, as I suddenly changed the rules on eating out and cooking at home. However, the practical logistics of the thing are, once you know what you are doing, not that tough, in Wellington anyway. Even Wellington airport would be okay, as I noticed a couple of things I could have eaten and even enjoyed.

I wrote two posts about Wellington – here and here. So, if you are ever visiting it may be useful.

The best way to travel as a vegan is to pack your own food, even on a plane. Colleen offers a list of foods she has found travel better than others. However, long-haul flights could be more of an issue. If the airline offers it, go for the “strict Indian vegetarian”. Someone did tell me several months ago that the trick when travelling was to order the Jain vegetarian meals. The Jains are an old Hindu sect that live by what we would call vegan principles. You have to order these meals in advance. Of course, it is easier to make your own food for the outgoing journey than the homeward one.

Before I travel again, which will probably be awhile, I’ll come back and read this chapter again.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Vegan Challenge – Day 11 – Travel”

  1. Thank you for stopping by. It’s so exciting to find another vegan in the world. It’s definitely not easy, and sometimes frustrating. You have to be strong minded and soft hearted to be a vegan. Over the years, I do find the world becoming more and more friendly for vegan diet. Definitely a positive change for the planet and for humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t really take credit for that point, it was in the book, but I think it is such an important way to look at it. In places like airports, they will give us what we are prepared to pay for. I understand some airports do now have places that serve healthier food because that is what people will buy.
      Anything that is driven by consumer demand and where consumers have the disposable income to make choice, like at an airport, is very telling about how we as a society relate to food and what our priorities are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

