30 Day Vegan Challenge – Day 7 – Get in the Kitchen

Making the Time to Cook

4bc98b7c9d24d2de8293f3ac731abf98-994cfb48456e223324103b0d6d76f2fe“The bottom line is if we don’t have time to be sick, then we have to make time to be healthy. …

If we have the time to pack the family into the car, drive to a restaurant, find a parking spot, stand in line to wait for a table, decide what to order, wait for the food, eat the food, wait for the bill, pay the bill, then drive back home, we have time to chop some vegetables.”

Colleen Patrick-Goudreau, 30 Day Vegan Challenge

Chop vegetables in advance. If you chop them, you will use them - true story.
Chop vegetables in advance. If you chop them, you will use them – true story.

Day 7 is about cooking. People lead busy lives and it often feels easier to just order a pizza. When you are tired and stressed, cooking feels like just one more chore you have to do. I imagine that if you have kids they get fussy and dinner becomes more irritation than pleasure. I remember as a child watching the battle of wills between my parents and my brother over vegetable eating. My sister talks about counting the peas as she forced herself to finish eating them. It’s no wonder vegetables become the enemy, and we find ways to avoid them in adult life.

Plan in advance and cook more than you need. Cooking or preparing extra one night gives you less to do the next day.
Plan in advance and cook more than you need. Cooking or preparing extra one night gives you less to do the next day.

I can totally understand parents, who after a long day at work send the kids up the road for fish and chips. It gives them 30 minutes of peace and quiet, the kids are happy and they don’t have to spend the evening doing more work – cooking and cleaning up, or worse trying to be the ‘good’ parent and supervise the kids’ reluctant, excuse-ridden, half-hearted clean up efforts. (Always more work than just doing it your own dam self.)

I don’t have children. The only person I cook for most of the time is myself. It’s ironic how much I love feeding people, yet don’t really get to do it that often! ¬†Personally, I find getting out the chopping board and dicing up vegetables de-stressing. Cooking is one of those things I will always make time for because I enjoy it. [What I try to avoid making time for is things like exercise!]

Have a back up plan for when you are too tired, too busy or really don't feel like cooking. Pre-cut or a packet of frozen stirfry veges with a pre-made marinade you keep in the fridge takes less time than ordering Chinese.
Have a back up plan for when you are too tired, too busy or really don’t feel like cooking. Pre-cut or store-brought packets of frozen stir fry veges with a pre-made sauce you keep in the fridge takes less time than ordering take-aways.

However, even I don’t always have the time or inclination to cook properly, and it is great to have a back up plan like veges chopped in advance, left-overs in the fridge or something quick you can grab from the freezer.

What I am not so great on is planning. If I want to spend less and waste less I do need to plan my food more. This is why I wish I had people to cook for, I could do more. I always want to cook more dishes than it is realistic for one person to eat!

Leave a Reply

