30 Day Vegan Challenge – Get Set – Chapter 4

Know Your Numbers

4bc98b7c9d24d2de8293f3ac731abf98-994cfb48456e223324103b0d6d76f2feBody Weight 

  • Body weight – less than 32% [Women] and less than 25% [Men]
  • Waist Circumference – less than 35 inches (88,9 cm) [Women] and less than 40 inches (101.6 cm) [Men]
  • Body Mass Index (BMI) – 18.5 – 24.9

Blood Pressure 

  • Systolic (top number) – under 120
  • Diastolic (bottom number) – under 80

Blood Glucose

  • First check (any time) – 200 mg/dl (indicator for diabetes)
  • Second check (fasting test) – range 70 – 100 mg/dl (healthy);  over 126 mg/dl (indicator for diabetes)
  • Oral glucose tolerance test –  70 to 110 mg/dl within a couple of hours

Cholesterol

  • Total cholesterol – below 150
  • LDL cholesterol – less than 100
  • HDL cholesterol – between 40 and 60

Triglycerides 

  • Fasting blood triglycerides – 50 to 150 milligrams mg/dL

Homoctsteine 

  • between 6 and 8 µmol/L

Vitamins 

  • Vitamin D – 50 – 60 ng/mL
  • B 12 – > 400 pg/mL

As recommended by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau, 30 Day Vegan Challenge

For this chapter, I am supposed to get myself to a doctor. They are supposed to check my numbers  for the objectives listed (above). Then, at the end of the 30 Day Challenge I get them checked again and compare the two sets of numbers. It’s a great idea, but it’s not going to happen this month.  I had a full blood work done a few months ago. Knowing that I was about to embark, despite dubious looks from the doctor’s chair, into veganism my B 12 was also checked – apparently normal.

I don’t know what my numbers are, but I’m sure they are in my medical records. In about six months I will probably go back for a check up and take the list with me. This time I will actually ask for my results to be sent. I always appreciate that my doctor takes the time to call and gives me the highlights, but it means that I never have the hard numbers to hand.

Tofu and broccoli both great sources of iron. A cup of firm tofu has about 4.2 mg (23%) and a cup of cooked broccoli 1 mg (5%).  Broccoli also has a good dollop of vitamin C (101 mg) necessary for iron absorption.
Tofu and broccoli both great sources of iron. A cup of firm tofu has about 4.2 mg (23%) and a cup of cooked broccoli 1 mg (5%). Broccoli also has a good dollop of vitamin C (101 mg) necessary for iron absorption.

At the time of the blood work, I still had anaemia. So, my highly dubious doctor mailed me an iron tablet prescription that I didn’t fill because I still had plenty left over from my lackadaisical last course. I have been (sort of) tracking my iron intake on Cronometer and most days are getting between 60-80% of the RDA.  I also understand iron absorption a bit better now and feel okay.

My body weight is terrible. I don’t need hard numbers to know that. Although, I have definitely lost weight since going vegan; no idea how much.

Diabetes is in my family, so that is something I worry about. I do get that checked and so far appear to have dogged that particular bullet. Next time I will at least do the fasting test,if not the tolerance test. If for no other reason than to get a full set of numbers.

Leave a Reply

